top of page

How to Build a Social Media Presence: A Ride Along (Part Two)

Hello fellow Internet-person.

Here we go again. Part deux. Yeah, I'm getting fancy with the French up in here. Today, we're going to take a look at my first few weeks on Twitter. The start of my social media marketing career. Everything in the beginning stages for me was done on complete guesses, along with some observation of what others were doing.

I did no research. I didn't ask for help. Really, I was just crossing my fingers and hoping for the best.

Long story short, I sucked at Twitter for at least the first week. I sucked hard. Honestly, I still think I suck, but I am getting better.

My first tweet was on June 26th. It was a retweet. Actually, four of my first seven tweets were retweets. I didn't know what else to do, apparently. My initial plan of attack (besides retweeting) was to tweet my blog posts, and use trending hashtags to create some filler tweets to hopefully gain some attention. The hashtag plan lasted all of about one day. I quickly found that I just didn't have the energy (nor did I care) to follow along with the trending hashtags. I needed to tweet about stuff that I actually liked in real life.

That being said, I do still occasionally tweet using the trending hashtags, but only if it's something I can talk about and fits into my brand. For instance, yesterday #BookLoversDay was trending. Being a writer and an avid reader, I hopped on this one. Other than that, I leave them alone.

Okay, so my first attempt at Twitter fame failed rather quickly. What now?

Well, since I'm a copywriter by trade, I figured I'd try to find as many copywriters, advertisers, and marketers that I could, and start liking their tweets and following them.

Coming from my still-limited experience and knowledge, I think this is a pretty good strategy. Of course there's more to it, but going after people in your niche that will be talking about the things YOU want to talk about is a good start.

At this point in my Twitter marketing journey, I didn't know how much further along these lines I should go. But what I was doing felt right, so I kept on doing it.

As I was searching for advertising peeps, I stumbled across One Minute Briefs, a UK-based account that runs daily ad brief contests on random topics. I thought "why not?", and jumped in. I fell in love almost immediately. It was a stroke of luck, actually, because the very day I found them, they happened to be running a brief with the theme of 'movie quote ads'. Basically, take a quote from a movie, and form an ad with it around a product of your choice. As a movie lover, I went crazy with it.​​

I don't want to bore your with every single thing I've done on Twitter. The point is, I found a great outlet for both my advertising creativity and tweet volume. Essentially, I found something that always gives me a reason to tweet, even when there seems to be nothing else. And it's relevant to my brand. Woohoo!

If there's one piece of advice I'd give, it would be to find something that you can consistently tweet about that fits into your brand. This has been hugely helpful to me, and has been a big part of gaining more exposure on Twitter.

Alright, I think that's all I want to cover on this one. Next time, we'll take a look at my next few realizations that have made a much bigger difference in the way I approach Twitter. If you're a Twitter pro and you've been pulling your hair out so far, I think part three might soothe you a bit. Or not. Remember: I'm still learning.

Comment below and ridicule my efforts! And look out for part three, where I'll catch you up to my current progress in the Twitterverse.

Click here if you missed part one.

And, if you need a (non-social media) writer, click here.

bottom of page