top of page

How to Build a Social Media Presence: A Ride Along (Part 1)

Hello fellow Internet-person.

I have a confession to make. Until very recently, I had almost no involvement in social media. As a 25 year old, that makes me a bit of an outlier (look at me, subtly complimenting myself already). As a freelance writer, who deals with mostly online work, this lack of social media has given me a problem.

You see, I'm not stupid. I realize that having a social media presence is important to any business. At least that's what everyone's telling me. So here I am, nearing the later stages of 2018, trying to kick-start an online persona through social media.

It ain't easy.

I got started on this little journey about two months ago. I had zero business-related social media. I had a personal Facebook page that was only about 6 months old. And that's it. I hadn't used Twitter since high school, and all I knew about Instagram was that my wife liked it. So, you can see that I really was (and still am) starting from scratch.

So naturally, if you're looking for expert advice on building a social media presence, you'll have to look somewhere else. I'm no expert. However, if you want to watch my learning process in this ongoing series, stick around. If you don't learn anything (very likely), you might at least get a laugh or two from my blunders and ill-informed attempts at growing an online audience.

I'll share every insight I come across, and every method that I find helpful. You'll get to learn as I do, woohoo!

I'm going to miss a lot, and make a lot of mistakes, so I'm asking for your help: please, comment below and tell me how poorly I'm doing. It'll really make this whole thing better if the real experts (or just people who know anything about social media) weigh in every once in a while.

I know that I haven't actually gotten into any of the "social media building" yet, and that's because I'm not going to. Well, not today. I wanted to keep this one short, just as an intro. But don't worry, there's more to come! And trust me, part two is going to be fun. I'm going to tell you all about my experiences (so far) with Twitter. It'll be hilarious.

Check back this Friday for part two as I stumble through my first month on Twitter.

Laugh at my weak Twitter account @LeBeardedScribe (and maybe toss me a sympathy follow).

Oh, and if you need a copywriter (for non-social media work) click here.


bottom of page